Africare In the News

WASHINGTON (February 11, 2013) – Africare will honor President Barack Obama and Dr. Mo Ibrahim for their outstanding accomplishments and life-changing impacts in Africa at its annual Bishop John T. Walker Memorial Dinner Gala on Saturday April 20, 2013 at the Hilton Washington Hotel in Washington, D.C., at 6 p.m.


In 2010, with a generous donation from President Obama’s Nobel Peace Prize award, Africare created the Water, Sanitation and Hygiene for Health (WASHH) Project in Ghana to raise awareness of basic hygiene and hand washing and to provide access to safe and clean water for four communities in the Wassa Amenfi District in the Western Region of Ghana.

“Before Africare implemented the WASHH Project in Ghana, more than 90 percent of the population shared a latrine with up to 60 other people, and basic hygiene was in some cases non-existent,” said Darius Mans, President, Africare. “With President Obama’s donation, Africare was able to significantly improve water access in Ghana. In the two years that have followed, the water quality remains very good and the school latrines that were built continue to help schools retain pupils who spend more time in class learning. Africare looks forward to recognizing the work we’ve done with President Obama’s support at the Bishop John T. Walker Memorial Dinner this April.”

Photographs by Wolf Marloh on 27/11/2007 at 18:05:38.All rights reserved. No unauthorised use may be made.Africare will also award Dr. Mo Ibrahim, the African entrepreneur and philanthropist who led the mobile revolution in Africa and who raised the bar on good governance and leadership, with the 2013 Africare Leadership Award. In 2006, The Mo Ibrahim Foundation launched the Mo Ibrahim Prize for Achievement in African Leadership to award heads of state of African countries that have selflessly restructured their government and transformed the lives of citizens during their time in office. This award continues to set the standard throughout the continent to safely conduct democratic elections and practice good governance.

Past recipients of the Africare Leadership Award include former Brazilian President Luiz Inacio Lula da Silva who received an award in 2011 for the countless contributions in trade, investment and diplomatic relations between Brazil and Africa.

First held in 1990, the Bishop John T. Walker Memorial Dinner honors and commemorates Bishop John T. Walker, Africare’s Board Chairman for 15 years and the first African American Bishop of the Episcopal Diocese of Washington, D.C. Bishop Walker was well known for championing peace, justice and interracial harmony. The event also raises critical unrestricted support for Africare.

To request media credentials for this event, please contact Christina Kposowa at ckposowa@apcoworldwide or by phone at (202) 778-6326.

Purchase tickets to the 2013 Bishop John T. Walker Memorial Dinner here or call 202-328-5370.