Historical Bishop John T. Walker Dinners

On Oct. 8, 1987, Africare’s headquarters ― Africare House ― was officially opened. Cutting the ribbon were (left to right), Africare President C. Payne Lucas, Africare Chairman Bishop John Walker and President Kenneth Kaunda of Zambia. (Photo: Lisa Berg)

Bishop John T. Walker Memorial Dinner Gala

The Bishop Walker Gala pays tribute to the memory of Bishop John T. Walker, who served as Africare’s Board Chairman and as the first African American Bishop of the Episcopal Diocese of Washington, D.C.  Throughout the years we have honored the following individuals and organizations listed on this page for their devoted service to Africa and Africare over the years.


2015 Bishop John T. Walker Memorial Dinner Gala

Distinguished Humanitarian Service Award to United States Department of State Assistant Secretary for the Bureau of African Affairs, Ambassador Linda Thomas-Greenfield for her legacy of selfless and compassionate service to the people of Africa.

Corporate Award to ExxonMobil for its notable contributions to several Africare programs in 2015 including Power Forward, a partnership with the National Basketball Association to teach health and life skills to Nigerian youth.

Life Member Award to Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc., for its long-term partnership which has provided more than $1 million in support of Africare programs.

Program Implementation Award for the ZaMs project to which a unique coalition of foundations collaborated with Africare to create a network of Maternal Waiting Homes in multiple Zambia districts and provinces to reduce maternal and infant mortality.

Young Philanthropist Award to Nathaniel Crossley, a Canadian teenager, who has single-handedly raised funds to support Africare’s and the African Well Fund’s initiative to build wells in Tanzania to provide clean water to several villages and schools.

View the photo gallery of the 2015 Gala here.


Past Photo Galleries

View a photo gallery of the 2014 Gala here.


See More Africare Events>>


Past Bishop John T. Walker Memorial Award Recipients

2014 – Africare Co-Founders C. Payne Lucas and Dr. Joseph C. Kennedy (Africare Lifetime Achievement Awards)
2013 – Dr. Mo Ibrahim (Bishop John T. Walker Leadership Award)
2011 – Luiz Inácio Lula da Silva, Former President of Brazil (Bishop John T. Walker Leadership Award)

Past Distinguished Humanitarian Service Award Recipients

Past National Chairs

2013 President Barack Obama
2011 Ambassador Donald McHenry
2010 Dr. Ngozi Okonjo-Iweala
2009 John Legend
2008 Former President George W. Bush
2007 President Ellen Johnson Sirleaf
2006 Former President William J. Clinton
2005 The Honorable Colin L. Powell
2004 Sen. Richard G. Lugar and Rep. Donald M. Payne
2003 Bill and Melinda Gates
2002 Harry Belafonte
2001 The Honorable Louis W. Sullivan, M.D.
2000 James D. Wolfensohn
1999 Graca Machel
1998 The Honorable Andrew Young
1997 Dorothy I. Height
1996 Former President Jimmy Carter
1995 The Reverend Leon H. Sullivan
1994 President Nelson R. Mandela
1993 The Honorable Sargent Shriver
1992 Archbishop Desmond M. Tutu

2010 The Exxon Mobil Corporation
2009 The Coca-Cola Company
2008 The Coca-Cola Company
2007 RLJ Companies
2006 United Parcel Service
2005 Royal Dutch Shell
2004 ChevronTexaco Corporation
2003 The Hon. Louis W. Sullivan, M.D.
2002 Archer Daniels Midland Company
2001 Harmon & Co.
2000 Eastman Kodak Company
1999 SBC Communications, Inc.
1998 Chevron Corporation
1997 Discovery Communications, Inc.
1996 SmithKline Beecham
1995 Cookson Gro
1994 AT&T
1993 Cookson Group
1992 Pharmaceutical Research and Manufacturers Association
1991 IBM Corporation
1990 The Coca-Cola Company

Past Speakers and Attending Leaders

Past Speakers

Past Attending Leaders

Roger Agnelli, Former CEO, Vale
Former First Lady Laura Bush
Former President George H.W. Bush
Then First Lady Hillary Rodham Clinton
Dr. Johnnetta Cole
Ann Curry
Luiz Inácio Lula da Silva, Former President of Brazil
Former Rep. Ronald V. Dellums
Former Mayor David N. Dinkins (New York City)
Daniel Kablan Duncan, Prime Minister of Côte d’Ivoire
Jendayi E. Frazer
Former Senate Majority Leader Senator William H. Frist
Bill Gates, Sr.
Then Rep. William H. Gray, III
Angelique Kidjo
Then Vice President Al Gore, Jr.
HUD Secretary Alphonso Jackson
Then Senator Nancy Kassebaum
Rep. Barbara Lee
Zindzi Mandela, Daughter, His Excellency Nelson R. Mandela
Youssou N’Dour
Then President Olusegun Obasanjo of Nigeria
Congressman Donald M. Payne
Then Treasury Secretary Robert E. Rubin
Former Surgeon General David Satcher, M.D.
Joni Sledge
Then President Nicephore Soglo of Benin
Then Lt. Gov. Michael S. Steele (Md.)
Then HHS Secretary Tommy G. Thompson
Rex W. Tillerson, Chairman, and CEO, Exxon Mobil Corporation
Then OAU/African Union Chairman, Prime Minister Zenawi of Ethiopia
Former Secretary of State Madeleine K. Albright
Then U.N. Secretary-General Kofi Annan
Lennart Bage, International Fund for Agricultural Development
Senator Joseph R. Biden, Jr.
Then President Bizimungu of Rwanda
Julian Bond
Mark Malloch Brown
Rep. Elijah Cummings
Then Senator Tom Daschle
Jacques Diouf, Food, and Agriculture Organization
Marian Wright Edelman, Children’s Defense Fund
Henry Louis Gates, Jr., Ph.D.
Then Rep. Benjamin Gilman
Then Labor Secretary Alexis Herman
The Rev. Jesse L. Jackson, Sr.
Vernon E. Jordan, Jr.
Omar Kabbaj, African Development Bank
Donald Kaberuka, African Development Bank
Senator Edward M. Kennedy
Coretta Scott King
Rep. Tom Lantos
Then President Masire of Botswana
Mora McLean, Africa America Institute
The Honorable Kweisi Mfume
H.M. King Mswati III of Swaziland
President Muluzi of Malawi
Then President Patasse of the CAR
Senator Claiborne Pell
Rep. Nancy Pelosi
Hugh B. Price, National Urban League
Rep. Charles Rangel
Rep. Ed Royce
Then Transportation Secretary Rodney Slater
Then President Vieira of Guinea-Bissau
Eddie Williams, Joint Center for Political and Economic Studies


2017 Major Sponsors






Peter Francis
Lauretta Bruno


2015 Major Sponsors

Africare’s 2015 Bishop Walker Memorial Dinner was supported by numerous major sponsors, including the those above.  Logos: Courtesy of Respective

2014 Major Sponsors

Africare’s 2014 Bishop Walker Memorial Dinner was supported by numerous major sponsors, including the those above.  Logos: Courtesy of Respective


Past Major Financial Supporters

Abbott Laboratories
African Development Bank Group
American Express Company
Anheuser-Busch Companies
AOL Time Warner
Archer Daniels Midland Company
BBC Worldwide
Black Entertainment Television (BET)
BP Amoco
Bristol-Myers Squibb Company
Chase Manhattan Bank
Chevron Corporation
The Coca-Cola Africa Foundation
The Coca-Cola Company
Colgate-Palmolive Company
Comcast Cable Communications
Cookson Group, plc
Corporate Council on Africa
Cox Communications
DaimlerChrysler Corporation
Dangote Group
DeBeers Group
Deloitte Touche Tohmatsu
Delta Air Lines
Discovery Communications, Inc.
Eastman Kodak Company
Exxon Mobil Corporation
Ford Motor Company
General Electric
General Motors Corporation
Goldman, Sachs & Co.
GoodWorks International
IBM Corporation
International Paper Company
Johnson & Johnson
Kupanda Capital
Limited Brands
Lockheed Martin Corporation
Mars Incorporated
Merck & Co., Inc.
Merrill Lynch
Microsoft Corporation
Millicom Foundation
Monsanto Company
Morgan Stanley Dean Witter & Co.
Norfolk Southern Corporation
Oracle Corporation
Pan African Capital Group, LLC
Pfizer Inc.
The Procter & Gamble Company
Sara Lee Corporation
SBC Communications Inc.
Shell International Limited
Sony Corporation of America
Tele-Communications, Inc. (TCI)
United Parcel Service, Inc.
White & Case, LLP
World Cocoa Foundation
WorldSpace Corporation
Xerox Corporation

Back to top