Dinner Videos

Below you will find a list of speakers at the 2004 Africare Dinner, held on Friday, November 5, in Washington, D.C. View the videos by selecting the appropriate bandwidth speed for your computer. The length of the video in minutes and seconds is shown to the right of the speaker’s name. Many of the evening's speakers were introduced by the Hon. Delano E. Lewis, Sr., President, Constituency for Africa and former U.S. Ambassador to South Africa, who served as the Master of Ceremonies of the event.
Videos listed below require the Microsoft® Windows Media® Player 9 or newer.
The Hon. Delano E. Lewis, Sr. (5:31)
President, Constituency for Africa; Former U.S. Ambassador to South Africa
The Rt. Rev. John B. Chane (3:12)
Episcopal Bishop of Washington, D.C.
The Hon. Imam Shaykh Hassan Ali Cisse (6:38)
Chief Imam, Grand Mosque of Medina Baye (Kaolack, Republic of Senegal)
The Hon. George A. Dalley, Esq. (6:50)
Chairman, Africare Board of Directors
Harold E. Doley, Jr. (3:13)
General Chair, 2004 Africare Bishop Walker Dinner
Founder, Doley Securities, LLC and former U.S. Representative to the African Development Bank
(Remarks on behalf of himself and the Hon. Walter Kansteiner III: the other 2004 General Chair, who was unable to be present at the event)
The Hon. Delano E. Lewis, Sr. (1:46)
After dinner remarks to audience
Remembering Bishop Walker, introduced by Tom Walker (5:24)
Videotape: A videotape celebrating the life and work of the Rt. Rev. John T. Walker
Tom Walker (3:25)
Son of the late Bishop Walker
Keynote Address
David J. O’Reilly (11:34)
Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, ChevronTexaco Corporation. National Chair, 2004 Africare Bishop Walker Dinner
Award Presentation
The 2004 Bishop John T. Walker Distinguished Humanitarian Service Award — honoring bipartisan Congressional engagement with Africa — was presented jointly to Senator Richard G. Lugar (R-Indiana) and Congressman Donald M. Payne (D-New Jersey).
The Hon. George A. Dalley, Esq. (2:00)
Chairman of Africare
Introduction of award
The Hon. Colin L. Powell (10:46)
U.S. Secretary of State
Tributes to Congressman Payne and Senator Lugar
The Hon. Louis W. Sullivan, M.D. (2:23)
Former U.S. Secretary of Health and Human Services
Delivering tribute to Congressman Donald M. Payne (D-New Jersey)
The Hon. Donald M. Payne (9:08)
Acceptance Speech
The Hon. Rodney E. Slater (6:52)
Partner, Patton Boggs
Former U.S. Secretary of Transportation
Delivering tribute to Senator Richard G. Lugar (R-Indiana)
The Hon. Richard G. Lugar (14:25)
Acceptance Speech
Julius E. Coles (9:43)
President, Africare