The 2005 Africare Dinner will present a salute to: The Honorable Colin L. Powell

A salute to:

The Honorable Colin L. Powell

The Hilton Washington Hotel

1919 Connecticut Avenue, NW

Washington, D.C.

National Chair:

To Be Announced

Videos of speakers from the 2004 Africare Dinner

Each year, the Africare Bishop Walker Dinner brings together more than 2,000 people — African heads of state, ministers of commerce and foreign affairs, leaders from the African Union and the United Nations, U.S. government leaders, foreign diplomats, corporate executives, and private individuals — who share one focus: They care about the future of Africa.

This is the largest annual event for Africa in the United States, with proceeds supporting the work of Africare. The Dinner is a top multicultural affair as well, embracing all races and a wide array of cultures and nationalities from around the world.

The Dinner also honors outstanding humanitarians through the presentation of Africare's Bishop John T. Walker Distinguished Humanitarian Service Award.


Senator Richard G. Lugar and Congressman Donald M. Payne – 2004
Bill and Melinda Gates – 2003
Harry Belafonte – 2002
The Honorable Louis W. Sullivan, M.D. – 2001
James D. Wolfensohn – 2000
Graca Machel – 1999
The Honorable Andrew Young – 1998
Dorothy I. Height – 1997
Former President Jimmy Carter – 1996
The late Reverend Leon H. Sullivan – 1995
Then President Nelson R. Mandela – 1994
The Honorable Sargent Shriver – 1993
Archbishop Desmond M. Tutu – 1992

First held in 1990, the Dinner is in memory of the late Bishop John T. Walker: the first African American Bishop of the Episcopal Diocese of Washington, D.C., and Chairman of the Board of Africare from 1975 until his death in 1989.

Ticket sales will begin during the summer, with distribution of tickets occurring in September. For information about participating in the Dinner Committee to raise funds for the event, please contact the Dinner Office.